The Southcott Awards

15marAll Day15junThe Southcott AwardsHeritage TradespersonAward Event TypeNomination PeriodGeographical ReachNL

Award Event Type

Nomination Period / Période de mise en candidature

Event Details

Established in 1984, the Southcott Awards are bestowed annually to honour outstanding achievements in heritage restoration, design in context, heritage stewardship, adaptive reuse, heritage trades, and lifetime achievement in the preservation of built heritage in Newfoundland and Labrador.

The quality of our architectural heritage has come to be one of the defining aspects of Newfoundland and Labrador. The Trust has been very much responsible for that definition, but our award winners make that definition a reality.

The Southcott Awards are named for one of Newfoundland’s most important nineteenth century building firms, J. & J.T. Southcott. J.T.’s architect son, John Thomas Southcott (1853-1939) made his mark with the Second Empire style of the Southcott properties at Park Place on Rennie’s Mill Road in St. John’s. This “Southcott style” was prominent in the rebuilding that followed the Great Fire of 1892, and spread throughout the colony.

Award Category Description

This award recognizes the skill and contribution of an individual in the craft of trade professions in heritage conservation. The individual must work using specialist and traditional methods and exhibit a high standard of craftsmanship.

Individual tradesperson(s), architect(s), or other heritage professional(s) having completed exemplary work relating to the conservation, preservation or restoration of a heritage structure are eligible for nomination.


March 15 (Friday) - June 15 (Saturday)





Entities Awarded

Individual / Individu

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply